Mouthpieces, Take 2

Home Forums Hardware Mouthpieces, Take 2

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Robert H. This post has been viewed 225 times Allen 7 months ago. This post has been viewed 225 times

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Robert H. Allen
    Participant

Hi Folks:
    Well to produce the sounds we need a mouthpiece so I am putting this new topic here. What mouthpieces do you recommend and why?
    I started playing 60 years ago with a decent Conn tenor horn which came with a Conn 12C. It seemed to do the job well for me for 8 years or so through school. Joined a US Navy Unit Band and played a King 3B and it came with a King(?) 12C. After the Navy went to college and traded that old King in on a new tenor Bach Stradivarius which came with a Bach 12C. Several years and 3 children later bought a new Benge tenor horn that came with a Benge 12C which, 20 years later, is sitting here in Thailand on my desk in it’s vinyl case; clean. 🙂
    So I wake up last week and learn that the whole world of trombone players thinks us older, ahem, “mature” types should be playing a (Blessing) 6.5AL!!!

I have seen some of the newer mouthpieces available from mouthpiece makers like Elliot, Wick, and Wycliffe Gordon’s Signature Pro series mouthpieces made by Pickett Brass which are pretty reasonably priced for his “Master” tenor mouthpiece which he uses and compares to the Bach 5G or Wick 6AL.